Why I Decided To Sort My Life Out

Well, I guess I’ll just start at the beginning:

I used to be really into my sports – gymnastics, kickboxing, football, running, biking and I loved going to the gym. Then came the unhealthy habits – junk food, cigarettes and alcohol. Even though I still went to the gym occasionally, I was never in good shape like I used to be. They say that abs are made in the kitchen…and I definitely did not have abs!

Fast forward to November 2012, I was the heaviest I’d ever been and I hated my body. While I ate all my veg and loved fruit, my penchant for consuming cupcakes like they were about to disappear off the face of the Earth forever was in full swing! The horrible thing is that I took Physical Education as an exam during high school, and my university degree is in Biology so I know a fair bit about nutrition. I have a gym freak boyfriend so I know a lot of exercises and I do a lot of journal reading on the subject – but I just could.not.be.bothered to apply it!

Something had to be done.

So I started going to the gym 3-4 times a week. I started cutting out as much junk food as possible, but it was running up to Christmas, and I had made (and eaten) a lot of festive goodies! It’s fair to say, I did not lose much weight during Christmas (in fact, in 6 weeks, I’d only lost 2lbs)

After New Years, I decided enough was enough. I was going to take this seriously. So I sorted my shit out. I worked out my BMR and multiplied it by the intensity I was working out at. I took a percentage of that to determine my daily calorie intake (I’m not an obsessive calorie counter, I wanted a ballpark figure). From there, I did a bit of research on macronutrient (Protein, Carbs and Fat) percentages, worked out the amount in grams I’d need to eat and divided that by 5-6 (the number of meals I eat a day).

Then, I put together a meal plan, substituting things I love (dessert!) with healthier versions and developing better recipes so I could still enjoy things I like. I’m a keen cook, so I like experimenting and making up my own recipes and this is perfect for that!

I now eat clean 90% of the time, allowing myself some unhealthy things . Because this isn’t a diet, this is a lifestyle change. And only diets restrict/cut out food groups. So, everything in moderation!

And since the 11th January 2013, I have lost 5.2lbs. Yes, in just over 2 weeks, I have lost that weight. I’m eating 5-6 times a day. I don’t stuff my face, I eat until not hungry. And I am never hungry between meals/snacks. This is the power of eating clean.

If I can inspire and motivate just one person to push on to achieve their goal, that would make me so proud. Because I know how hard this journey can be.

So, get up and move. Even if you don’t feel like you’ve done much, you’re still doing better than you did yesterday!

A Penny For Your Thoughts

