Healthy Fruit Crumble

You know when you’re really in the mood for some comfort food, but you don’t want to eat crap?! Yeah, that was me last night. My mum is on this detox month of no meat, wheat, dairy, alcohol or sugar. So basically, she can’t eat anything. She keeps trying to get me on the band wagon – no thanks! I love me some milk!

So anyway, I decided I wanted to make a fruit crumble. We had some rhubarb that I wanted to use, it goes wonderfully with strawberries. What d’ya know, we have some of those too. My problem was the crumble topping, usually I would use flour, but I’m not eating refined flours and we only had white flour. Dammit. What we did have, however, were oats (in 3 different varieties, and lots of ’em), almond flour and coconut flour (mum went paleo for a couple of months). So, I created this crumble topping, I followed no recipe, and it might be out there somewhere already but I just literally just thought along the lines of paleo recipe subs and well, I think it turned out pretty well! By pretty well, I ate a mahoosive bowl and sat there cradling my food baby in front of Grey’s Anatomy. Winner.

I kinda winged the recipe a bit, in that I didn’t actually measure anything out. I never do when I make crumble topping because it depends on the size of the dish, etc. BUT I know by eye roughly how much I used so I’ll replicate that for you.

Healthy, Flour and Dairy Free Crumble Topping:

Makes enough to cover a dish 10″ x 7″

2 cups large oats2 cups oat bran
2 cups fine oats (I just put 2 cups of oats in a blender, this can also be used to make “instant” oats)
2 cups almond flour/ground almonds
2 cups coconut flour
1/2 cup of dark brown sugar/molasses
1 cup coconut oil (I put it in the fridge to solidify like butter so it would produce a crumbly texture)
1 tsp ground ginger

1. Mix it all together in a bowl. Voila!

P1000392 P1000395

This is what it looked like all put together. I’m sorry about the crap photos. I don’t often take photos of my food. I know, shocking considering I’m half Chinese in the age of Instagram :/

P1000399

This also tastes amazing by itself. I may have eaten a spoonful or two before I put it in the oven. You could also bake it in a single layer on a baking sheet to make granola. nom.

If you give it a try, or if you think I’m missing something that would give it a bit of pazazz, please let me know how it goes by leaving me a comment!

One comment

  1. Reblogged this on calmyourbeans.

A Penny For Your Thoughts

