My Current Workout

I’m not sure if anyone will actually be interested in my current workout, but maybe someone is! My current workout is done a lower body/upper body split, and I try to change it every 6-8 weeks to keep it fresh – although I quite like this workout so maybe I’ll keep it as is and add in some more isolated moves. But I’m only on week 4 of this workout cycle so when the time comes, I’ll let you know! Also, I don’t follow the same order every time I workout – I like to switch up the order to keep my muscles guessing. The weights given are more of a guideline, in that sometimes I might throw in a higher weight at a lower rep (usually 8R)  for 1 set. I don’t know why I do this, I didn’t read it anywhere, I think I just do it to stop me from getting too bored! I’ve linked each exercise I perform to a webpage that demonstrates it incase anyone isn’t familiar with each exercise.

Upper Body:

Front Squat – 3 (sets) x 10 (reps) @ 30kg
Single Leg Deadlift (kettlebell) – 3×8 @ 16kg/3×10 @10kg
Single Leg Cable Kickback – 3×10 @ 20.5kg
Barbell (BB) Glute Bridge – 3×10 @ 30kg
Dumbell (DB) Offset Lunge – 2×10 (each side) @ 15kg – But I only use 1 DB, rather than 2.
Calf Raise – 3×10 @ 30kg
Kettlebell Shin Raise – 3×10 @ 6kg –> I do this as part of my ankle rehab, not because I want massive shins! In the link, you’ll see that he’s using a plate loaded lever, I simply replace that with a kettlebell by hooking my foot through the handle. This exercise is also good for shin splints.

Lower Body:

Single Arm DB Chest Press – 3×8 @ 20kg
Bent Over Cable Row – 3×8 @ 32kg
Close Grip Lat Pulldown – 2×8 @ 25kg
Wide Grip Lat Pulldown – 2×8 @ 25kg
BB Shoulder Press – 3×10 @ 20kg
Bicep Curl (TRX) – 3×10 – This is a bodyweight exercise, usually I would do it on a TRX but my gym doesn’t have one of those so I put the cable machine on the highest weight and use that as a substitute.
Tricep Cable Pulldown – 3×8 @ 20kg
Swiss Ball Mountain Climber – 3×12
McGill Curl Up – 3×8
Cable One Arm Incline Push – 3×8 @ 15kg

If you’re just starting out, it might be better to follow a program from a professional. Bodybuilding.com has this cool workout database where you can select how many days you want to work out, how many sets, whether you want full body or split workouts and then press enter and it will give you a list of programs.

Another one on the same sit is Jamie Eason’s LiveFit Trainer – I personally have never used it, but my sister has and she said it was really good. It’s a 12 week programme, split into 3 phases and I believe it’s very popular.

Do you know of any tried and tested workout plans with good reviews, or that you have personally used that you would recommend to anyone else?

 

A Penny For Your Thoughts

